Flipora Hijacker

Trust me to keep an article in drafts for over a week, thinking it has been published already… *looks at the previous post*

*facepalm*

Well, anyways, apart from me being a totally absent-minded wacko, I guFliporaess there are more important things we should discuss. Like Flipora Hijacker. Once again, I’m taking the most comment search keyword for this application, because I’m pretty sure it’s not so much of a scary and malicious browser hijacker, rather than just a potentially unwanted program. Nevertheless, I’d say remove Flipora Hijacker from your PC if you want your peace back.

You know, I’m sometimes taken aback by some of my friends and computer users alike, who don’t even care what’s going on with their browsers. Oh? My home page got changed *shrug* Oh well, no big deal. But really, is it? I, on the other hand, would be alarmed if my homepage suddenly changed to flipora.com. What is more, this program installs a plugin on a browser of choice (Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer), and then asks you to connect to its service through your email or Facebook accounts.

Now, I don’t know how about you, but I really can’t stand when a random application asks me for my Facebook account. All those apps that you are offered to connect to on Facebook? I reject them all. I realize it’s a fake sense of safety and privacy, but I still get to choose, and if I need to choose between my browser and Flipora Hijacker, I choose my browser.

What is more, with the application installed on your browser, you will often be redirected to such domains as feeshare.flipora.com, where you will encounter feeds from selected social networking sites (like 9gag or Tumblr). Supposedly, these feeds are supposed to be related to your accounts on these sites (considering that users are asked to log in to Flipora with their email and Facebook accounts). Nevertheless, the way I see it, the feeds are absolutely useless.

Now when it comes to the reason why I can’t fall Flipora Hijacker a HIJACKER in the first place – it asks the user whether he/she wants the home page to be changed or not. Naturally, if a program prompts the user about the oncoming modifications, you can’t call it a malicious browser hijacker! Yet again, considering the security risks that come with Flipora Hijacker, I’d rather do it away immediately. I mean, these programs may seem docile and all, but in the long run they can become indirectly responsible for malware infection and what not.

How to remove Flipora Hijacker

Internet Explorer

  1. Press Alt+X and go to Manage add-ons.
  2. Delete Flipora from Toolbars and Extensions.
  3. Select Search Providers on the left.
  4. Set a new default search engine and delete Google+Flip.
  5. Click Close and press Alt+X again. Click Internet options.
  6. Open General tab and remove static.flipora.com from home page section.
  7. Type in a new home page address and press OK.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Press Ctrl+Shift+A for Add-ons Manager tab to open.
  2. Disable and remove Flipora from Extensions.
  3. Click the search engine icon on the left of search box (see top right corner).
  4. Click Manage Search Engines on a drop-down menu.
  5. Delete Google+Flip from the list and press OK.
  6. Click the orange Firefox button and select Options.
  7. Open General tab and change your home page address. Press OK.

Google Chrome

  1. Press Alt+F and go to Tools. Select Extensions.
  2. Delete Flipora from the list and click Settings on the left.
  3. Mark Open a specific page or set of pages. Press Set pages.
  4. Change your startup page and click OK.
  5. Select Manage search engines under Search.
  6. Delete Google+Flip and set a new default search engine. Press Done.

I think that these steps above should be enough to get rid of Flipora Hijacker, but if you are paranoid that there may be something else wrong with your PC, you can always scan it with a legitimate scanner and check whether everything’s ok. It’s all up to you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

