Flexible phones

I don’t know which day it  was (or which blog it was), but I certainly have had a post on graphene before. You know, the super duper material that will allow us to have bendable phones in the near future (or so they say). I mean, it may sound like a paragraph from a science fiction book, but who wouldn’t want a phone that folds, has fleximorph_wrist_modeble batteries, and solar panels that are built into a colorful screen. The same image is presented in this article on graphene by BBC Future section, that discusses possibilities of using the material for our phones.

To be honest, the idea of a flexible phone is not new. I think I’ve first heard of the Nokia Morph concept some six or seven years ago, and ever since then I’ve been waiting… and waiting… and waiting… Truth to be told, we’ve moved on from flippable to smart phones during that period, but folded phones? Ah… No so fast.

I’ve heard it countless of times, and I think each time I hear of a new technology being developed, the first thing that comes to mind is – how long will it take to apply it in practice? How much will people have to invest into it to make it work? Are we gonna be like Howard Stark who was “limited by the technology of his time” and left it all for Tony to figure out? It’s just like the wireless electricity concept that’s there, it’s working, you know, but I guess it costs more than most of us can afford at the moment.

I just hope that these flexible phones come around some time soon, because I’m curious as hell about it.

Leave a Reply

