Another onslaught of stupid

You know, just when you think that things are getting better, they go back to where they used to be, and it literally makes me want to “face-palm” myself, as in “what did I tell you”. I’m not much of a preacher but I do remember saying BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU CLICK ON, but it didn’t go well, because I see people now being infected with Windows Pro Safety. I honestly want to add a frustrated emoticon into this article. Before I say anything else, remove Windows Pro Safety while you can, otherwise, boy, you are in trouble.

Now why would I be so frustrated about something like Windows Pro Safety, and what on earth is it? It’s exactly the same piece of unwanted software as Windows Safeguard Upgrade and Windows ProSecurity Scanner. I say “EXACTLY”, because it is true – Windows Pro Safety is a direct clone of the previously mentioned rogues. So what can we deduce when I see that Windows Pro Safety is a clone of other rogue antispyware? That’s right, it inflicts the same damage upon the user’s computer and it tries to do the same thing to you – steal your money.

It even uses the same tools of trade to lure the user into its trap. Namely, the same set of fake security notifications:

Recommended:
Please click “Remove all” button to erase all infected files and protect your PC

Error
Potential malware detected.
It is recommended to activate protection and perform a thorough system scan to remove the malware.

Warning! Virus Detected
Threat detected: FTP Server

Now, since things like Windows Pro Safety have been around for so long, there are a lot of users, who can tell a rogue antispyware program apart form a real antivirus application. Once they realize that the fake program infected their system, they close the application and ignore its warnings, without any intention to buy a product that does not work. That is commendable in a way, but that’s not the best way to deal with Windows Pro Safety, because after all, the rogue REMAINS in your system no matter what.

To make matters worse, Windows Pro Safety has no thoughts of leaving your system as well. Its intentions are made obvious when the rogue does not allow the user to access the Internet anymore. And trust me, Internet block is one of the most frustrating experiences ever. It can only be revoked if Windows Pro Safety is registered, and this is where some of the users slip by giving in and paying for it. But there’s no need to do that, because there’s a better way to fool the rogue itself.

0W000-000B0-00T00-E0020

The code above, used as an activation key after you click the “Activate Ultimate protection” button, allows you to “register” the rogue. As a result, the Internet is back. Yay! Yet, that is still no time to cheer for the victory; you still need to terminate Windows Pro Safety itself. This is where a legitimate antimalware program comes handy. I would not recommend deleting Windows Pro Safety on your own, because it’s a tedious and slightly dangerous task – what if you delete important file or something like that?

So the bottom line remains – Windows Pro Safety is not to be trusted. Windows Pro Safety must be removed. Use a reliable program to remove Windows Pro Safety. AND DON’T GET INFECTED AGAIN FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s